RGNTs first electric
motorcycle ready
for mass production.

A mobile Stromer silences the street.

At first glance, the Regent No. 1 appears as a classic retro-styled bike. When looking close enough you can see a display, where originally circular instruments are. And after the first ride, it becomes clear that Regent No. 1 has a quiet electric motor instead of a rough single cylinder. The motorcycle manufacturer RGNT has created an electric bike in the 50s look with the mission to silence the streets.

Industrialization of the motorcycle battery

The Swedish company Regent Motorcycles was founded in December 20218 by Jonathan Aström with the vision to design classic motorbikes with an environmentally-friendly powertrain. RGNT presented its prototype in May 2019. The company is already one step ahead in the motorcycle industry, not even the big players in the market offer electric motorbikes. One year later after the prototype was produced, the e-vehicle producer reached out to e battery systems, to get the model ready for mass production. The design was already clear at the beginning: A retro-styled bike was the aim. This is why the focus is pointed directly at the heart of the motorbike: power unit and storage. For e battery systems is clear to get the electric motorcycle ready for mass production the costs of manufacturing have to be reduced.

Manufacturing of the lithium motorcycle battery

  • Selection of new material
  • Redesign with the aim of series production
  • Process optimization
  • Searching supplier for subassembly
  • Assuring security and proximity of supply by making long-term contracts with cell manufacturers and supplier of electronics
  • Automation of manufacturing

From prototype to market-ready electric motorcycle

First step before the motorcycle battery can be manufactured is the analysis of the market potential. Step by step the safety is improved and all criteria such as production-optimized component selection, weight and energy content are taken into account.

 

The lithium motorcycle battery with 60 Ah enables a range of up to 150 km / h and a silicon carbide switch technology increases the efficiency of the powertrain for more range and drive power. The engine is located in the heart of the machine, but in Regents No. 1, there is an oversized drum brake in the rear wheel. Practical advantage: energy is regained through recuperation on the rear wheel.

 

The battery of the electric motorcycle of the Swedish start-up RGNT consists of several complex components, such as the cell, the BMS (Battery Management System), and the BPU (battery protection device). The marketability of the electric motorcycle requires high reliability in terms of delivery, which is why critical components are manufactured directly at e battery systems or secured through long-term contracts with the suppliers.

 

“The simply called No.1 machine is a visual treat and is based on the design of classic motorcycles such as the Yamaha SR 500.” - ADAC

Facts:

  • Engine: brushless wheel hub motor
  • Transmission: direct drive
  • Battery type: lithium-ion
  • Peak power: 11,000 W
  • Continuous power: 8,000 W
  • Top speed: 125 km / h
  • Weight battery: 35 kg (permanently installed)
  • Voltage: 72 V
  • Capacity: 60 Ah
  • Charging time: approx. 4 hours
  • Range: 150 km

Christoph Pürmair, project manager of e battery systems, explains:

 

“To get the battery of the motorcycle ready for mass production we focused on the redesign especially on using standard components in terms of cost-efficiency. What was also very important was that the construction of the battery is simple and with little effort. Many steps could be automated to remain competitive in the long run."

Image rights: RGNT Motorcycles

RGNT's
erstes Elektromotorrad
mit Serienreife.

Ein Mobile Stromer bringt die Straße zum Schweigen.

Auf den ersten Blick ist die Regent No. 1 ein Klassiker im Retro-Style. Erst beim genauen Hinschauen fällt auf, dass dort, wo sonst die Rundinstrumente sind, ein Display leuchtet. Und spätestens bei der ersten Ausfahrt wird klar, dass die Regent No. 1 statt ruppigem Einzylinder einen leisen Elektromotor hat. Der Hersteller RGNT hat damit einen Mobile Stromer im 50er-Jahre-Look geschaffen, mit der Mission, die Straßen zum Schweigen zu bringen.

Industrialisierung der Motorradbatterie

Die schwedische Firma Regent Motorcycles wurde im Dezember 2018 von Jonathan Aström gegründet, um klassisch designte Motorräder mit umweltfreundlichem Antrieb zu bauen. Den ersten Prototypen stellt RGNT im Mai 2019 vor. Damit ist die Firma ihrer Zeit bereits voraus, denn nur die wenigsten großen Marken haben ein E-Motorrad im Programm. Genau ein Jahr später wendet sich der E-Motorradhersteller an e battery systems, um das Modell mit der Serienreife zu adeln. Durch den Retrostil wurden Designfragen vorab geklärt, es geht also direkt an den Kern der Maschine: Antrieb und Speicher. Von vornerein steht für e battery systems fest, um den Mobile Stromer marktreif zu machen, müssen die Costs of Manufacturing sinken.

Herstellung des serienreifen Lithium-Motorrad-Akkus

  • Auswahl neuer Materialen
  • Redesign mit dem Zweck der Industrialisierung
  • Prozessoptimierungen
  • Lieferantensuche für Unterbaugruppen
  • Liefersicherheit durch Langzeitverträge mit Zellhersteller und Elektronik Lieferanten
  • Automatisierung der Fertigung

Vom Prototyp zum marktreifen Elektromotorrad

Schon im Frühstadium, bevor es an die Herstellung der Motorradbatterie geht, steht die Potenzial-Analyse an. Schritt für Schritt wird die Sicherheit verbessert und alle Kriterien wie Fertigungsoptimierte Bauteilauswahl, Gewicht und Energiegehalt berücksichtigt.

 

Der Lithium-Motorrad-Akku mit 60 Ah macht eine Reichweite von bis zu 150 km/h möglich und durch eine Siliziumkarbid-Schalter-Technologie erhöht sich die Effizienz am Antriebsstrang für mehr Reichweite und Antriebskraft. Eigentlich sitzt hier im Herzen der Maschine der Motor, doch in der Regent No. 1 imitiert dieser eine überdimensionale Trommelbremse im Hinterrad. Praktischer Vorteil: Durch die Rekuperation am Hinterrad wird Energie zurückgewonnen.

 

Der E-Fahrzeug-Akku der „schönen Schwedin“ besteht aus einigen komplexen Bauteilen, wie der Zelle, dem BMS (Battery Management System) und der BPU (Batterieschutzvorrichtung). Die Marktfähigkeit des Elektro-Motorrads verlangt nach Liefersicherheit, deswegen werden kritische Bauteile direkt bei e battery systems gefertigt oder durch Langzeitverträge mit den Lieferanten gesichert.

 

„Die schlicht No.1 genannte Maschine ist ein optischer Leckerbissen und lehnt sich an das Design von klassischen Motorrädern wie der Yamaha SR 500 an.“ - ADAC

Facts:

  • Motor: Bürstenloser Radnabenmotor
  • Übertragung: Direktantrieb
  • Batterie Typ: Lithium-Ionen
  • Spitzenleistung: 11.000 W
  • Dauerleistung: 8.000 W
  • Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 125km/h
  • Gewicht Batterie: 35 kg (fest verbaut)
  • Spannung: 72 V
  • Fassungsvermögen: 60 Ah
  • Ladedauer: ca. 4 Std.
  • Reichweite: 150 km

Christoph Pürmair, Projektleiter von e battery systems, erklärt:

 

„Um die Elektrobatterie für das RGNT Motorrad serienreif zu bringen, haben wir speziell beim Redesign darauf geachtet, Standardbauelemente im Bezug auf Kosteneffizienz zu verwenden. Weiter war uns wichtig das der Aufbau des Akkus einfach und mit wenig Handgriffen produziert werden kann. Viele Schritte konnten automatisiert werden um so langfristig konkurrenzfähig zu bleiben."

Bildrechte: RGNT Motorcycles